Staff

Janette Berthelot – Executive Director

Janette joined Hearth Place in May, 2011. In addition to her management duties, Janette oversees the Pediatric Cancer Family Support Program. She provides peer support and mentorship for families dealing with childhood cancer ensuring they have access to resources and Hearth Place programs. Janette provides intake for new members, and co-facilitates, Sib-Links and family support groups.
Janette@hearthplace.org

Sonja Shepherd – Member Services Coordinator

Sonja joined Hearth Place in November, 2001, holding a number of different roles. Currently Sonja provides individual support to members entering the centre, peer and caregiver support, and group facilitation of the Lymphoma and Blood Related Cancer Support Group. Sonja is also Co-Director of the Hearth Place Volunteer Puppet Team.
sonja@hearthplace.org

Susan Viminitz – Member Services 

Susan joined Hearth Place in May, 2011. Susan provides introductory interviews and ongoing case management for new members. She provides support for adolescents who are bereaved or coping with a loved one with cancer.
susan@hearthplace.org

Barb Franks-McNaughton – Member Services 

Barb joined Hearth Place in May, 2015. Barb provides introductory interviews and ongoing case management for new members. She provides grief counselling for those who have lost a loved one to cancer.
barb@hearthplace.org

Pamela West – Member Services Intake 

Pamela joined Hearth Place in October, 2017. Pamela provides introductory interviews and ongoing case management for new members.
pamela@hearthplace.org

Stephanie Hamilton – Program  Coordinator 

Stephanie joined Hearth Place in May, 2019. Stephanie is responsible for researching, planning, coordinating and registration for all programs that are offered at Hearth Place as well as producing the bi-monthly program calendar.
stephanie@hearthplace.org

Carolyn Hoar – Volunteer and Pediatric Cancer Family Support Coordinator

Carolyn joined Hearth Place in May, 2011 and is responsible for recruitment, scheduling, retention and administration of volunteers. She is also responsible for program and resource development and volunteer management of the Pediatric Cancer Family Support Program.
carolyn@hearthplace.org

Debbie Dawson – Fundraising and Community Engagement 

Debbie joined Hearth Place in June, 2013. Her primary role is the stewardship of major sponsors and to provide professional expertise and leadership in fundraising strategies and public awareness.
debbie@hearthplace.org

Shauna Cartlidge – Senior Event Manager

Shauna joined Hearth Place in March, 2014. She is responsible for planning, coordinating and executing all Hearth Place signature fundraising events and oversees the Events department. Shauna also manages our website.
shauna@hearthplace.org

Kirsten Craig – Fundraising Events Administrative Assistant

Kirsten joined Hearth Place in May, 2019. Kirsten supports all Hearth Place Signature fundraising events as well as coordinates all of our third party events. Kirsten also oversees the Hearth Place social media platforms.
kirsten@hearthplace.org

Donna Barrett-Holmes – Office Administrator

Donna joined Hearth Place in June, 2018. She is responsible for the processing of financial needs for Hearth Place.
donna@hearthplace.org